Home > Mission Districts

Congregations shall join in collaboration to fulfill most effectively the ministry and mission of the NALC, normally based on common geographic boundaries. Such organization shall be done in consultation with the Bishop and subject to the approval of the Executive Council.

Each regional group of congregations shall adopt appropriate governing documents that are consistent with the governing documents and practice of the NALC and shall include election of a Dean, adoption of a budget and provision for supervision, mutual support of member congregations and procedures necessary for carrying out its mission and ministry.

The Deans, who are ordained ministers of the NALC, are accountable to the Bishop and support the work of the Bishop by conducting similar functions in their respective areas. Deans shall serve as pastor to pastors, their families, and congregations and will conduct a ministry of teaching and visitation with pastors and congregations. Deans may continue to serve under the call of a congregation.

Convener of the Deans

The Rev. Daniel Powell (Springfield, OH; 937-399-6257)

Atlantic Mission District

Dean: The Rev. David McGettigan (Atlantic City, NJ; 609-742-2449)
Region: Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland (eastern), Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York (eastern), Pennsylvania (eastern), Rhode Island, Vermont and Washington DC.
Email           Website

Canadian Mission District

Dean: The Rev. Malcolm (Mac) de Waal (Medicine Hat, Alberta; 403-952-7817)
Region: Canada

Carolinas Mission District

Dean: The Rev. Dr. Nathan Howard Yoder (Maiden, NC; 828-485-7155)
Region: North Carolina and South Carolina
Email              Website 

Central Pacific Mission District

Dean: The Rev. Douglas Schoelles (Kingsburg, CA)
Region: Northern California and northern Nevada

Eastern South Dakota Mission District

Dean: The Rev. Tom Christenson (Huron, SD; 605-554-1002)
Region: Eastern South Dakota

Great Plains Mission Region (3 Mission Districts)

Great Plains Mission District East

Dean: The Rev. Fritz Brandenburg (Westboro, MO)
Region: East of Hwy 77

Great Plains Mission District South

Dean: The Rev. Richard Solberg (Bella Vista, AR)
Region: South of Hwy 400; including Oklahoma, Arkansas, and Ava, MO

Great Plains Mission District West

Dean: The Rev. Keith Less (Abilene, KS)
Region: Hwy 77 North to South and KS 400 East to West

Great Rivers Mission District

Dean: The Rev. Preston Foster (Metropolis, IL; 618-638-0147)
Region: Illinois

Heartland Mission District

Dean: The Rev. Pamela Thorson (Elizabethtown, KY)
Region: Indiana and Kentucky
Email               Website

Iowa Mission District

Dean: The Rev. Marshall Hahn (St. Olaf, IA; 563-880-9714)
Region: Iowa
Email               Website

Michigan Mission District

Dean: The Rev. Steve Hartten (Stevensville, MI; 269-556-7000)
Region: Michigan (lower peninsula)

Mid-Northeast Mission District

Dean: The Rev. Carl Johnson (Kittanning, PA; 724-548-2051)
Region: western Maryland, western New York, western Pennsylvania and West Virginia
Email                Website

Mid-South Mission District

Dean: The Rev. Trina Petersen  (Lithonia, GA; 404-408-3481)
Region:  Alabama, Florida panhandle, Georgia, Mississippi and Tennessee

Minkota Mission District

Dean: The Rev. Lyle Belleque (Devils Lake, ND; 701-662-3565)
Region: Minnesota and eastern North Dakota
Email                Website

Northwest Mission District

Dean: The Rev. Jack Richards (Everett, WA)
Region: Alaska, Idaho, Oregon and Washington

Ohio Mission Region (5 Mission Districts)

Website               View map of Ohio Mission Region

North West Ohio Mission District

Dean: The Rev. William Maki (Saint Marys, OH)
Region: counties of Allen, Auglaize, Defiance, Fulton, Hancock, Hardin, Henry, Lucas, Mercer, Paulding, Putnam, Shelby (north of Ohio 119), Van Wert, Williams, and Wood
Email                Website

North Central Ohio Mission District

Dean: The Rev. Paul Larson (Mansfield, OH)
Region: counties of Crawford, Erie, Huron, Marion, Morrow, Ottawa, Richland, Sandusky, Seneca, and Wyandott
Email                Website

North Eastern Ohio Mission District

Dean: The Rev. Michael Koch (Medina, OH; 330-635-8008)
Region: counties of Ashland, Ashtabula, Carroll, Columbiana, Coshocton, Cuyahoga, Geauga, Harrison, Holmes, Jefferson, Knox, Lake, Lorain, Mahoning, Medina, Portage, Stark, Summit, Trumbull, Tuscarawas, and Wayne
Email                Website

Southeastern Ohio Mission District

Dean: The Rev. Jeffrey Morlock (Galloway, OH; 614-404-1915)
Region: counties of Athens, Belmont, Delaware, Fairfield, Fayette, Franklin, Gallia, Guernsey, Hocking, Jackson, Lawrence, Licking, Madison, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Muskingum, Noble, Perry, Pickaway, Pike, Ross, Scioto, Union, Vinton, and Washington
Email                Website

Southwest Ohio Mission District

Dean: The Rev. Mark Daniels (Centerville, OH; 740-603-5287)
Region: counties of Adams, Brown, Butler, Champaign, Clark, Clermont, Clinton, Darke, Greene, Hamilton, Highland, Logan, Miami, Montgomery, Preble, and Shelby (south of Ohio 119)
Email               Website

Rocky Mountain Mission District

Dean: The Rev. Ken Hohag (Colorado Springs, CO)
Region: Colorado, New Mexico, Utah, and the corner of Texas below New Mexico

Sonshine Mission District of Florida

Dean: Vacant
Region: Florida (except panhandle area)

Southwest Pacific Mission District

Dean: The Rev. Marvin Combs (Huntington Beach, CA)
Region: Arizona, southern California, Hawaii and southern Nevada

Texas Mission Region (3 Mission Districts)

North Texas Mission District

Dean: The Rev. John Scheusner (Arlington, TX; 817-296-8670)
Region: Texas (north)

Southeast Texas Mission District

Dean: The Rev. B.A. (Tim) Christ (Richmond, TX; 281-762-3310)
Region: Texas (southeast) and Louisiana
Email                 Website

Southwest Texas Mission District

Dean: The Rev. Norm Sulaica (Three Rivers, TX; 361-362-9108)
Region: Texas (southwest)
Email                 Website


Dean: The Rev. Bradley Hales (Culpeper, VA)
Region: Virginia

Western Dakotas, Montana and Wyoming  Mission District

Dean: The Rev. David Baer  (Whitewood, SD )
Region: western Dakotas, Montana and Wyoming

Wisconsin and Upper Michigan

Dean: The Rev. Craig Nehring (Caroline, WI; 715-754-5045)
Region: Wisconsin and Upper Michigan
Email                Website